Links

Manage group settings

Group admins can configure how members of their group can use Workspace. Other than billing and license assignment, there are three aspects that can be managed through the general settings tab in the group admin settings, i.e. https://app.datacamp.com/groups/<group-slug>/settings.

With full capabilities or in Restricted Mode

For groups that subscribed to DataCamp through the website, DataCamp Workspace runs with full capabilities: as an open platform, allowing users to upload custom datasets, connect to external data sources, install additional Python or R packages, and share their work with the world.
Users that are only in groups that run with full capabilities, can:
  • Create, rename and delete workspaces.
  • Upload and download files
  • Execute code and scripts (R, Python, SQL, Bash).
  • Share a workspace with other DataCamp users.
  • Install additional Python or R packages from GitHub, PyPi, CRAN, etc.
  • Access remote data sources and APIs through integrations.
  • Securely store secrets as environment variables.
For groups that purchased DataCamp through DataCamp's sales and customer success organization, DataCamp runs in “Restricted Mode”.
Users that are in one or more groups with Restricted Mode enabled, can:
  • Work only with pre-approved datasets, databases, and packages
  • Collaborate with group members only.
  • not upload files from their local file system
  • not set up new database connections
  • not access remote servers
  • not install new packages
  • not create publicly available workspaces
  • not share work with people outside of the organization
  • not access workspaces in groups that run with full capabilities.
For more details on Restricted Mode and switching modes, please contact support or your Customer Success Manager.

Access to AI assistant

Workspace features an AI assistant that lets users generate code based on prompts or explain and fix errors. This functionality is powered by large language models by OpenAI.
Group admins can toggle access to the AI Assistant:
Group admins can toggle access to the AI Assistant.

Default sharing settings

By default, all other group members have commenter access to newly created group workspaces. You can change this to "Disabled" (if you want newly created workspaces to be private to the creator only) or any other role.
Group admins can specify the default workspace access
Note that group members can still update the sharing settings manually after creating the group workspace.